Back to Writing: Day One

Not the start that I had anticipated, but I am glad to report that I have completed 1500 words of my new book, which is yet to have a title. It tells the story of a fifteen year old boy, who finds himself sentenced to four years in a juvenile detention centre in Dublin. The main themes are racism, childhood innocence and the relationship between parents and children.

Today was the second day of a two day hangover and I didn’t get my sorry ass out of bed until after 2 p.m. Luckily, I am on holidays for the week, but it was a bit of a waste. Added to that was four hours spent playing CoD on the PS4, before I finally dragged myself off the couch to do an eight kilometre run.

Showered and changed and on the laptop by 7.30 p.m and I was ready to write. I did the first two chapters. I have not done a whole lot of planning, but I have done a few versions of this story with a different protagonist, so this time I changed the perspective and from my point of view, it reads well. How other people read it, I have no idea.

With the drink almost out of my system, I am hammering out these words before I go back to CoD for a few hours before bed. Probably won’t sleep tonight so I’ll be seeing what’s happening in one of the three books I’m currently reading, which only serves as a reminder of how inadequate I am in the literary world!

So long dudes, until tomorrow.

Ryan Harper

Leave a Reply

