My Uncle Ron

My Uncle Ron

 

As a young boy

I was happy as could be

Jumping up and down

On uncle Ronnie’s knee

He was my daddy’s brother

And he was just nineteen

When he was charged with murder

In the first degree

 

I still remember when

The cops took him away

I watched my daddy shed a tear

But then I heard him say

Ronnie you just gotta fight

You gottta be a man

And I’ll break you out

As soon as a I can

 

He gambles, he drinks and sometimes he cheats

But he’s the nicest guy you could ever meet

He roams around the country

Drinking until dawn

There aint no one like my uncle Ron

 

And sure enough as always

Daddy he was right

He helped Ronnie to escape

One cold October night

They made their way to Maine

and then to Tennessee

And after eight years in prison

Uncle Ronnie was free

 

He gambles, he drinks and sometimes he cheats

But he’s the nicest guy you could ever meet

He roams around the country

Drinking until dawn

There aint no one like my uncle Ron

 

The cops, they’re still on the hunt

Searching coast to coast

But uncle Ronnie says

They’re looking for a ghost

He says don’t worry, have no fear

It’s time for Uncle Ronnie

To buy you your first beer.

 

He gambles, he drinks and sometimes he cheats

But he’s the nicest guy you could ever meet

He roams around the country

Drinking until dawn

There aint no one like my uncle Ron.

 

 

One thought on “My Uncle Ron

Leave a Reply

