With a Bottle in my Hand

Walking to the car

I hear the slamming of the door

It’s that slam

I’ve heard a hundred times before

But tonight there’s tears

Falling from her eyes

She’s had enough

Of the drinking and the lies

 

I order my Jack straight

And a pint to wash it down

It’s been a long week

Since I’ve been on the town

The Jack is gone in seconds

As I nod for one more

The barman shakes his head

He’s seen it all before

 

Another Jack is finished

As I stumble for more change

But how long can I go on like this

Before I go insane?

It’s time I figured out,

it’s time that I copped on

that I can’t live my life

with a bottle in my hand

 

As the barman fills my glass

I look around the room

Smiles on their faces

As the DJ plays his tunes

Those smiles I don’t remember

Happy times I don’t recall

How many lives ruined by this

Bloody alcohol?

 

 

Another Jack is finished

As I stumble for more change

But how long can I go on like this

Before I go insane?

It’s time I figured out,

it’s time that I copped on

that I can’t live my life

with a bottle in my hand

 

 

 

I throw down another Jack

The last I’ll ever drink

Begging her to stay is all

That I can think

It’s time I figured out, it’s time

That I copped on

That I can’t live my life

with a bottle in my hand

 

Moving through the crowd

I see an old friend at the door

That familiar voice inside my head

Says stay for just one more

Deep down I know I’m lying

I know I won’t be home

The tears will keep on flowing

And pretty soon I’ll be alone.

 

 

Another Jack is finished

As I stumble for more change

But how long can I go on like this

Before I go insane?

It’s time I figured out,

it’s time that I copped on

that I can’t live my life

with a bottle in my hand

 

One thought on “With a Bottle in my Hand

Leave a Reply

