I Only Drink to Forget About You

I leave my problems

At the bottom of a glass

But I know this way of life

Ain’t ever going to last.

 

Cause I wake every morning

With my head in a bowl

The jack and the  beer

Is taking its toll

 

I’m sick of this life

The drinking’s insane

And I know deep down

That I’m trying’t hide the pain

But the booze is better

Than facing the truth

That I only drink

To forget about you

 

Each night I sit

Right at the bar

Talking to strangers

Bout football and cars

And when the bar is shut

I stumble home

Drinking more whiskey

And being alone.

 

I’m sick of this life

The drinking’s insane

And I know deep down

That I’m trying’t hide the pain

But the booze is better

Than facing the truth

That I only drink

To forget about you.

 

The bottle was the first thing

I saw when you left

I cursed your daddy

And poured myself a drink

And that’s when it started

That’s when I knew

That I’d have to drink

To forget about you.

 

I’m sick of this life

The drinking’s insane

And I know deep down

That I’m trying’t hide the pain

But the booze is better

Than facing the truth

That I only drink

To forget about you.

 

Now it’s been two years

Since you walked to the door

And each day I realise

I’m drinking some more.

And I can deny it

Right till I’m blue

That I ain’t drinking

To forget about you.

 

My friends have all left

And I’m all alone

Just a man and his drink

And nowhere to go

And maybe some day

I’ll see the light

Maybe some day

I’ll be all right.

 

But for now all I have

Is my jack and my beer

And together we’ll help

Stop any tears

Cos when the drink hits

And the tongue gets loose

I know I’ll soon

Forget about you.

 

I’m sick of this life

The drinking’s insane

And I know deep down

That I’m trying’t hide the pain

But the booze is better

Than facing the truth

That I only drink

Cos I’m missing you.

 

Leave a Reply

