I Just Lost my Last Fifty

 

Beaten by a nose,

I can’t believe my eyes

Another hundred gone

But it aint no surprise

I’ve always backed losers

And I know deep inside

that people like me

Will never survive

 

Just as I get up to leave

Another tip comes through

This old mare just can’t be beat

Oh lord let it be true

I hand over my last fifty

And say a silent prayer

That no one will beat

This ragged old mare

 

I just lost my last fifty

On an old gray mare

The kids will have no supper

But the bookie doesn’t care

Tomorrow I’ll be back again

I just can’t stay away

Cause I gotta have

A winner some day

 

Without a dollar in my pocket

I head towards the door

I tell God it’s the last time

That I won’t bet no more

But God knows I’m lying

He’s heard it all before

Cause People like me

Always want more

 

I just lost my last fifty

On an old gray mare

The kids will have no supper

But the bookie doesn’t care

Tomorrow I’ll be back again

I just can’t stay away

Cause I gotta have

A winner some day

 

Leave a Reply

