My heart belongs in Eireann

The Wild Atlantic Way

 

The sound of New York City

Bustles through my mind

But I long to see Tir Conaill

And the friends I’ve left behind.

I long to take a trip

To the Banks of Mulroy Bay

For my heart belongs in Eireann

On the Wild Atlantic Way.

 

In my mind I see Portsalon

And a pier without a sound

The boats they all lie empty

No fishermen around.

To the right I see Knockalla

Towering like a king

Holding back the waves

As the Atlantic rolls in.

 

Chorus:

 

The streets of New York City

May be paved with gold

And they say down in Reno

You never will grow old

But my heart it longs for Eireann

And the banks of Mulroy Bay

My heart belongs in Eireann

On the wild Atlantic Way

 

I travel through the coast

And reach Rathmullan town

The golden grains of sand

For miles and miles around.

Centuries of beauty

Unspoilt for eyes to see

Centuries of Beauty

Which helped to set us free.

 

Chorus

The streets of New York City

May be paved with gold

And maybe down in Reno

You never will grow old

But my heart it longs for Eireann

And the banks of Mulroy Bay

My heart belongs in Eireann

On the wild Atlantic Way

 

The wild Atlantic Ocean

Crashes on the shore

Beneath the clear blue water

You can hear O’Donnell roar.

The Normans and the Vikings

And the battles of our past

Played out and celebrated

As you hear the waves crash.

 

Chorus:

The streets of New York City

May be paved with gold

And they say down in Reno

You never will grow old.

But my heart it longs for Eireann

And the banks of Mulroy Bay

My heart belongs in Eireann

On the wild Atlantic Way

 

But Twenty years have passed

Since I walked upon that shore

Those familiar faces

Won’t be there anymore.

But nothing will have changed

On the banks of Mulroy Bay

Nothing will have changed

On the Wild Atlantic Way.

 

 

3 thoughts on “My heart belongs in Eireann

    1. Yeah that’s the type od sound I was looking for. I’m not musical at all, so I only write lyrics, so it’s hard to get the right sound.

      Bridie Gallager is a real star of Donegal, so I’ll take that as a compliment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

